Throw Back Thursday with Mario

  • January 24, 2019
  • no responses.


On Saturday the Super League of Malawi and their sponsors TNM will award the best performers of the 2018 TNM Super League season.

The 33rd Malawi Super League season ended on last year’s Christmas eve with Nyasa Bing Bullets crowned champions.

Rankings part 1

We thought of taking you through the last 10 years of the TNm Super League to find out who have been the most outstanding teams since the 2009/10 season.

These statistics are based on the performances of the teams’ final Log Table positions and have been calculated on the basis of the champions being awarded 16 points, then 15 for the runners up and the bottom team getting a single point.

The points system is used in the both scenarios of the current 16 team league and the previous 15 team one.

Rankings part 2

During the last 10 seasons, 37 different teams have competed in the League. But out of these only seven, Tigers FC, Be Forward Wanderers (once known as MTL and Mighty), Blue Eagles, Moyale Barracks, Nyasa Big Bullets (who at one point were known as Bullets FC), Red Lions and Silver Strikers have ever been present.


About 13 teams had a single season appearance in the country’s top flight league after being relegated in their debut year. The teams were Bvumbwe Research, Chikhwawa United, Chitipa United (Who will return for the 2019 season following their promotion), Cobbe Barracks, Dedza Young Soccer, Embangweni United, Envirom, Juke Box, Kabwafu United, Mponela United, Max Bullets, Mzuzu United and Nchalo United.

TN Stars, Mzuni Master Security are a few teams that recently survived relegation following their promotion recently.

2009-201 Log table

2018 champions Nyasa Big Bullets have won the title three times over the period under review but they fell short of Silver Strikers in the rankings.  The Bankers have won the league four times in the period, were runners once and finished third thrice. The bankers top the chart with 138 points and are the only team, in the past 10 years, to have won the League 3 years running between 2011/12 and 2013/14 seasons. Their worst finish was when they finished fifth twice.

Bullets, who apart from the three championships, were runners up three times and had four terrible seasons between 2009/19 to 2011/12 and 2013and14, when they finished 6th, 7th, 11th and 8th respectively.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

But looking at the actual number of games played (286), Bullets have one more win than Silver Strikers (156/155) and lost fewer games (46/55) and  overall gained 552 points against  Silver’s 532 (this including the 9 points deducted from Silver Strikers  during the 2014 season for misconduct)

2018 Log tabel

The other Champions in the period were Be Forward Wanderers (2017), Escom United (2009/10) and Kamuzu Barracks (2016). Escom who were relegated at the end of the 2011/12 season have never appeared in the top League again. However, Escom United are the only team to have gone unbeaten throughout the season in 2009/10 when they finished as runner up with just a point behind Champions Silver Strikers.

Quick Facts

Champions Nyasa Big Bullets holds a number of records in the past 10 years as follows:

-Highest number of wins in both the 15 and 16 teams League (20 and 21 respectively)

-Lowest number of defeats in the 16 team’s category, jointly with Silver Strikers (1)

-Highest number of points in both 15 and 16 teams Leagues (66 and 71 respectively)

-Highest number of goals scored in the 16 League, jointly with Kamuzu Barracks (55)

-Lowest goals conceded in the 16 League (10)

Leave a Reply