Standard Bank Knockout Cup

Civo United won the last Standard Bank Cup in 2015

The Standard Bank knockout Cup was a cup for Elite teams that was played in Malawi between 2007 and 2015 under the sponsorship of Standard Bank. The 2015 edition was the last as on 4th February 2016 Standard Bank Malawi withdrew sponsorship due to what they called economic hardships.


Following a knockout cup drought of three seasons between 2005 and 2007 ,Standard Bank  came to the rescue of Malawi football with a lucrative knockout tournament, the Standard Bank Cup  in 2007.It was  national a cup that was open to all from amateur to Super league teams. This came as a boost as teams were only playing league football with all the major cup tournament sponsors pulling out their funding.

Silver Strikers were the inaugural winners beating Escom United 1-0 with Atusaye Nyondo scoring the lone goal.

Moyale Barracks won the following year’s competition edging Bullets FC  7-6 on post-match penalties.

In 2009  Tigers won it on penalties beating Civo while Moyale won the 2010 edition for the second time and again on penalties against Civo.

Blue Eagles ended their 15 year cup drought with yet another 6-5  penalty shootout win over  Moyale.

Mighty Wanderers also managed to lay their on the trophy for the first time after beating Silver Strikers 2-0 in the 2012 finals.

Wanderers defended the title in 2013 beating Silver Strikers 1-0.

Silver Strikers won it in 2014 after a hard fought 1-0 win over Azam Tigers.

The 2015 Edition was won by Civo United who beat Mighty Be Foward Wanderers 1-0.



From 2007 to 2011 the competition was open to all teams from amateur rural teams to  Super league teams . But in 2011 the format was changed to top eight as the sponsorship also dropped from K 30 million to K 15 million then up to K  20 million in 2012

The top six teams from the  previous Super League season  final log table qualified  directly for the competition while four other teams that played in playoffs to have the final two teams  were voted to participate by the supporters through a Standard Bank transaction.

Until 2010 the Cup was known as the Standard Bank FAM Cup, But FAM gave the full naming rights to the Bank as an appreciation for their continued romance with Malawi football.


Past Winners

2015- Civo United

2014- Silver Strikers

2013- Mighty Wanderers

2012- Mighty Wanderers

2011- Blue Eagles

2010- Moyale Barracks

200- Azam Tigers

2008- Moyale Barracks

2007- Silver Strikers