Silver are inaugural Airtel Top 8 champs!

Stand up for the champions

Silver Strikers are the inaugural Airtel Top 8 winners after beating Be Forward Wanderers 10-9 in post-match penalties at Bingu National Stadium in Lilongwe.

The two teams played out a goalless draw in regulation team to force the match into dreaded penalty shoot-outs in which the Bankers came out triumphant to dent the Nomads’ record of being the inaugural cup winners.

For their feat, Silver carted home a cook K15 million in just four matches while the Nomads pocketed K5 million consolation.

Harry Nyirenda was the villain in the Nomads camp after his sport-kick was denied by the woodwork to send Silver fans into frenzy.

The first set of penalties were all converted leading to the sudden death.

The Nomads dominated the first half but failed to make use of the good chances that they created with Jabulani Linje and Yamikani Chester the notable culprits.

The Bankers had their moments too, but hey also missed their efforts.

Silver’s technical director Young Chimodzi said he was extremely delighted at winning the cup.

It was a sweet revenge for the Bankers who also lost in the finals of the Carlsberg Cup last year through penalties as well.